Church of Magrigne

This chapel of the Templars was built in the 12th century. It is in Romanesque style and has no side windows because of the buildings that stood on its sides. The unique nave is supported by large flat buttresses built with beautiful stones. The chevet is flat and pierced by an elegant triplet with narrow and high openings. There are traces of paintings from the 13th century. Abandoned, overgrown with weeds and farm animals, it was restored and returned to worship in 1895. A pilgrimage is organized every year for the feast of Pentecost.

Lire la suite  Underwater base
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap